Self-care

This past week has been a bit grueling.  Two people I care deeply about were in ICU (one, thankfully, is out);  someone I adore may have breast cancer; one of my best friends is dealing with recovery from alcoholism and I testified for the prosecution at a court martial for two days and now a young man’s life has been destroyed (even if he deserves it, it’s still hard to handle).  And finally,  there was a woman murdered under the bridge across from the Center Monday night.  A tragic occurrence due to the way our country handles mental illness and homelessness.

I have a reputation as “the Mom” and I’m the one people expect care from in times of crisis and difficulty.  Generally I’m okay with that, however this week I’m kind of at the end.  I also am really bad at asking for assistance when I need it and hate to ask my partners to take care of me.   I realized that I need to develop a good plan for self-care.

Last night I started with going to my wonderful new friend Ev Stern’s music studio and listened to a bunch of awesome folks do a jazz jam session.  I never once even looked at my phone, I just sat at there and soaked in the incredible music.  It made me aware that sometimes doing something selfish and just for me is a great way to do self-care.  So, I’ve decided that at least once a week I’m going to do something that is for me only.  Tomorrow I’m going out to a fancy dinner/play alone and I can’t wait.  Not sure what I’ll do next week, and I’m sure it will be awesome.

Just wanted to encourage all of you to take care of yourself.  Self-care is important and it’s up to you to make sure it happens.

5 comments

  1. randi · August 27, 2015

    I love you very much. Always thinking of you and wrapping my arms around in comfort. Thank you for replenishing you. There is nothing more important.

    Like

    • randi · August 27, 2015

      And this is Randi. Don’t know if it shows. Love love

      Like

  2. Si · August 27, 2015

    I love you and totally agree. Even if you have a nesting partner who does a great job taking care of you, you still need to do a few things a week that are strictly for yourself. For me, lately, it’s been the Dance Embodied dances. You get to move, maybe work up a sweat, and be with warm, non-judgmental, sexy people.

    Like

  3. Rick Bannerman · August 27, 2015

    I couldn’t agree more. I’m making it a point to swim at least three times a week, even though it is about an hour drive to get to the nearest YMCA. It helps a lot. Let me know if an old friend listening could help you to unburden sometime.

    Like

    • allenagabosch · August 28, 2015

      now that you’re in the lower 48 it would be awesome to see you and Sam

      Like

Leave a Reply

